Blitz Bowl Humans – Go 49ers!

… and how to take advantage of skin and experimenting on those skin tones.

This time it struck me really hard how much I still have to practice using the Airbrush. I wanted to apply the biggest parts with the AB and just started out with the red. lighting it up by adding yellow and spraying this more from the top.

Then I thought I mask the shirts, red (Pro Acryl Red) with masking putty and apply the gold (Vallejo Metal Gold). Yeah, did that but: I forgot to spray everything that should have been golden. I thought I am smart and then use a different gold for armour plates (PA Rich Gold) – but that does not work. The greenish Vallejo and the reddish PA gold just do not work together. It ends up that neither looks like gold.

It also was also not until applying white details that the colour scheme started to work.

In the middle of the base coats I realized I have to first paint the skin. So I started a similar approach like on the Ruffians from my Middle Earth project.

Charlie and Jeri Rice get a dark skin tone (I came up with the names after I finished the paint jobs) that is based on the PA Mahagoni base coat. For Arni and Blitzer I used the Scale Color SC22 Arabic Shadow as base tone. And Wärf and Börni got a classical pinkish SC21 Pink Flesh undercoat.

After all the highlights and details I came back with a black oil wash – but I put that only in some places: so, no soaking but with the tip of a brush (and of course removing later the excess with white spirit).

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Bloggen auf WordPress.com.

Nach oben ↑

Erstelle eine Website wie diese mit WordPress.com
Jetzt starten